Passer aux informations produits
1 de 2

Missinaibi 3 - Mattice à Moosonee

Missinaibi 3 - Mattice à Moosonee

Prix habituel $12.95 CAD
Prix habituel $15.95 CAD Prix soldé $12.95 CAD
Vente Épuisé
Frais d'expédition calculés à l'étape de paiement.

SHIPPING CALCULATED AT CHECKOUT

Les pagayeurs les plus sérieux ont entendu parler de la rivière Missinaibi - le plus long tronçon ininterrompu de rivière pour pagayer en Ontario. Ce 3e guide de notre série Missinabi couvre la route de la ville de Mattice jusqu'en aval ou vers le nord jusqu'à Moosonee près de la baie James, une distance de 314 kilomètres d'eau.

La première partie de la route a une abondance de rapides d'eau vive difficiles, et bien qu'il y ait des portages pour vous faire contourner ceux que vous ne souhaitez pas courir, il y en a beaucoup qui vous donneront une belle balade.

Une grande caractéristique de cette section de la route est la grande chute dans la région de Thunderhouse Falls, du bouclier précambrien aux basses terres de la baie d'Hudson. Après le maelström de chutes, de chutes, de rapides et de canyons, la rivière tourne brusquement, ralentit et s'élargit sur sa course sans entrave jusqu'à Moosonee, et juste au-delà, la baie James.

L'accès à cette zone peut être un défi, alors nous passons du temps à vous informer sur les différentes options (voiture, train, avion, pourvoiries, navettes, etc.), en plus d'une description complète de l'itinéraire et d'autres fonctionnalités pour vous aider à planifier et à effectuer votre voyage.

Notre guide discute et montre également en détail comment la traite des fourrures a défini une grande partie des débuts de l'histoire exploratoire du Canada. Vous pouvez toujours visiter le site des postes de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson et les endroits où sa grande rivale, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, s'est battue, parfois littéralement, pour la suprématie de la traite des fourrures dans le Nouveau Monde.

Notre carte topographique étanche à l'échelle 1:60 000, complètement originale (comme toutes nos autres) a des détails extraordinaires, et comprend du texte et des photos sur l'histoire naturelle et humaine, des descriptions d'itinéraires de canoë, des conseils de sécurité, des informations de contact, de superbes photographies en couleur - en bref juste sur tout ce que vous voudriez pour vous aider à planifier et à profiter de votre voyage.

Afficher tous les détails

FREE SHIPPING ACROSS CANADA ON ORDERS OVER $50

Missinaibi 3 - Mattice to Moosonee - The Trip Shed

Missinaibi 3 - Mattice to Moosonee

Regular price
$14.95
Sale price
$14.95
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Most serious paddlers have heard of the Missinaibi River - the longest unbroken stretch of paddling river in Ontario. This 3rd guide in our Missinabi series covers the route from the Town of Mattice all the way downstream or northward to Moosonee near James Bay, a distance of 314 water kilometres.

The first part of the route has an abundance of challenging whitewater rapids, and while there are portages to get you around the ones you don't wish run, there are plenty that will give you a great ride.

One big feature of this section of the route is the big drop-off at the Thunderhouse Falls area from the Precambrian Shield onto the Hudson Bay Lowlands. After the maelstrom of falls, chutes, rapids and canyons the river turns sharply, slows and broadens on its unimpeded run to Moosonee, and just beyond it, James Bay.

Access to this area can be a challenge, so we spend some time providing information about the various options (car, train, plane, outfitters, shuttles, etc.), in addition to a comprehensive route description and other features to help you plan and take your trip.

Our guide also discusses and shows in some detail, how the fur trade defined much of the early exploratory history of Canada. You can still visit the site of Hudson Bay Company's posts, and the places where its arch-rival Northwest Company battled, sometimes literally, for fur-trading supremecy in the New World.

Our waterproof, 1:60,000 scale, completely original (like all our others) topographic map has extraordinary detail, and includes text and photos about natural and human history, canoe route descriptions, safety tips, contact info, great colour photographs - in short just about everything you'd want to help you plan and enjoy your trip.

Our Promise

Quality Gear

All the products we sell are carefully curated from years of testing in the field. If we haven't used it, and don't trust it, we won't sell it. 

Easy Shipping

Not only are all orders over $50 shipped for free across Canada, but we also offset the carbon emissions associated with every shipment. 

Satisfaction Guarantee

We guarantee all the products we sell. Same goes for any advice we give you. Got an issue with your gear? Contact us and we'll get it sorted. 

We beat the crap out of our gear and rely on it in the field. That's why we've developed the Trip Shed Pledge. Any problem, any time we're here.

1% of profits go to our Adventure For All Fund. To eliminate financial barriers to entry for individuals looking to join one of our life-changing backcountry adventures.